Date(s) - October 15 2021
12:00pm - 4:00pm

Hilton London Canary Wharf

Founded in 1998, the Railway Innovation Awards are the longest-standing awards scheme in the industry. Now organised by the 4th Friday Club, the Awards are the annual event at which everybody keen on seeing innovation in the railway sector meets up to discuss and celebrate the brightest ideas in the industry.Visit 2020’s Virtual Railway Industry Innovation Awards


Focal Point Preview Image

HOST: Roger Ford

Industry and Technology Editor, Modern Railways

Roger is probably best known for his authoritative column ‘Informed Sources’ in the monthly trade and technical magazine Modern Railways. ‘Informed Sources’ is noted for its in-depth analysis of railway technical, commercial and policy issues.


Chief Technology Officer, Network Rail

Robert has over 25 years’ experience in the rail industry, starting his career as a graduate civil engineer, and has gained a wealth of experience in a number of technical and managerial roles within maintenance, operations management and engineering functions with Balfour Beatty and Network Rail. He has been involved in delivering key performance, safety and innovative engineering solutions on the UK main line networks to improve passengers’ experience.

Robert now heads up the Technology team in Network Rail, focusing on creating the structure, energy and throughput of innovation and legal compliance to improve the railway’s efficiency and all aspects of railway performance, safety, environment and resilience. He is a passionate promoter of developing and introducing new technology and working collaboratively with industry partners in the UK and on EU wide programmes, including engaging and learning from different sectors. He is also a keen supporter of the environment and tackling climate change.


The schedule for the 2021 awards will be confirmed nearer the event.


The 4th Friday Club’s annual event celebrating the best in railway innovation takes place each year. The 2021 awards will be the 23rd for the longest standing award scheme in the industry.

This is an event to celebrate the achievements of those companies and individuals who are pushing the industry forward by developing innovative ideas.


Entries in the Railway Innovation Awards are assigned to one of these categories:

• Environment and sustainability

• Passenger experience

• Cross-industry partnership

• Operations and performance

• Engineering and Safety

• People, skills and diversity

• Small-scale project

• Major project

Winners of the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are presented with a fine cut glass engraved vase from Dartington Glass.

Share this page: